History of CSEN

CSSN was established in 2008 to serve Christian Schools. Before the establishment of CSSN Victorian Christian Schools met together for Athletics and Swimming competitions in Maryborough each March on the local oval and at the local swimming pool. There was a need for a more formal, elite competition that reached more Christian Schools to select teams for National Competitions.

In 2008, CSSN had 22 member schools that participated in Primary Cross Country, Secondary Athletics, Secondary Swimming and Secondary Cross Country.

Founding members of CSSN were:

  • Bairnsdale Christian College
  • Ballarat Christian College
  • Belgrave Heights Christian School
  • Chairo Christian College – Drouin Campus
  • Chairo Christian College – Pakenham Campus
  • Covenant College
  • Creek Street Christian College
  • Flinders Christian Community College – Carrum Downs Campus
  • Flinders Christian Community College – Latrobe City Campus
  • Flinders Christian Community College – Tyabb Campus
  • Heatherton Christian College
  • Henderson College
  • Hillcrest Christian College
  • Kings College
  • Lighthouse Christian College
  • Maranatha Christian School – Casey Campus
  • Melton Christian College
  • Mildura Christian College
  • Mt Carmel Christian College
  • Northside Christian College
  • Shepparton Christian College
  • Victory Christian College
  • Waverley Christian College – Wantirna South Campus

At the end of 2008, Bairnsdale, Henderson, Mildura and Shepparton withdrew from CSSN due to distance from Melbourne where the major carnivals were conducted.

Heathdale Christian College joined CSSN at the start of 2009. A weekly sport competition was introduced for schools in south east Melbourne, along with VCE Rally Days, that were well attended. Both Primary Athletics and Primary Swimming were held for the first time.

At the end of 2009, Flinders Tyabb withdrew from CSSN.

Weekly Sport changed to fortnightly sport in 2010 at the request of schools and this system remains in place today.

Kerang joined CSSN at the start of 2010. Waverley (Narre Warren campus) along with Maranatha (Cardinia campus) joined CSSN in 2013.

In 2013, cultural activities were introduced to the CSSN annual program. Chess, Debating, Theatre Sports and Play in A Day were conducted in response to schools requests. 2014 saw the introduction of Mastercook, following on from the success of similar television programs.

St Andrews Christian College joined CSSN at the beginning of 2014, bringing the membership to twenty two schools. The other significant development for the year was the CSSN website. This advance has seen the ease of information distribution to schools.

Red Rock Christian College and River City Christian College joined in 2015. Music was introduced into the program.

In 2016, CSSN became CSEN to recognise the cultural events that form part of the network and a new logo was adopted after a competition among schools.  Rivercrest Christian College became members of CSEN.

Edinburgh College became members in 2020 before covid 19 hit and the majority of events were cancelled due to the pandemic.  Debating, Masterminds, Play in a Day and Word Play were converted to an online format.

Heritage College, Mt Evelyn and Heathdale Melton were admitted to membership in 2021.

Major Carnival Champions